Showing posts with label Watch Dogs. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Watch Dogs. Show all posts

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Watch_Dogs Post-Mortem



***So I have not been posting here as often as I would have like to. All my time and effort has been going into my articles over at indiejuice.tv. The past 2 weeks have been crazy busy for me. I received a few review codes and have been making videos and really starting to ramp up my content production. I wanted to at least post something here so I decided to post my Watch_Dogs review. Its been out for a week and it was also my first major game in which I got a review copy. I want to thank Ubisoft for sending me over a copy and I hope you all enjoy the review***

So now that everyone has had some time with Watch_Dogs I figured it is the perfect time for me to get my thoughts out there. In the past I have been harsh on the Ubisoft title that, at the time, was not even released because of the way Ubisoft handled things. From the 6 month delay to the graphical downgrade I have been highly critical and the hype surrounding the title had subsided leading up to the release date due to their handling of the project. After having the game for a while now and sinking many hours into the game and analyzing many aspects of the game, I can safely say that Watch_Dogs did NOT live up to my expectations. BUT do not take that sentence as "I hate the game, don't buy it, its crap". The game reached a level of hype that was IMPOSSIBLE to live up to and I don't blame the game for that. I can say that I did have fun playing Watch_Dogs and I hope that Ubisoft will take the best elements from this to make Watch_Dogs 2 a better game (Ubisoft has stated that they will not develop new IP's unless they were confident they could turn them into a franchise, hence Watch_Dogs 2 should be coming).

Lets get right down to the details and see how I think this game stacks up and what it did great and what needs to be worked on.


Graphics

Where to even start with this... Ubisoft had everyone under the impression that Watch_Dogs was going to be THE game to really show the power of the new generation of consoles and also push the PC to its limits (HA!). While I did play the game on PC I should make a note that Watch_Dogs came no where near where it should have been on PS4 and XboxOne. 900p and 792p both at 30FPS is not "Next Gen" and the issues I had running on PC were due to poor optimization. I was running at 1080p 60FPS on Ultra but I did drop frames here and there and when I recorded my video, I had to knock everything down to High since the game crashed on Ultra when I tried to record. I am not sure why it did that but I am using an AMD video card and there was talk that the game was developed around Nvidia and AMD was basically cast aside which may have something to do with the performance issues I was seeing. The graphical fidelity is decent for what the game was hyped up to be. It has absolutely beautiful moments and the lighting effects are pretty great in some areas but then in some places you can just see where the developers cut corners. The textures aren't smooth, the character models aren't very good in places, the car damage/physics were laughable and the draw distance was atrocious (popping. lots and lots of popping). Overall, when I am not dropping frames I was totally immersed in the world. The streets may not have been as crowded as they are in real life but Chicago did feel alive in some places.



Gameplay/Mechanics

Many people have mentioned that the Watch_Dogs gameplay falls into the same trap that plagued the first Assassin's Creed game. Repetitive nonsense. I somewhat agree to an extant that the game does get a bit tedious after a while. The game was built up around the mechanic of hacking devices and using them to manipulate the world and while the gimmick was fun in the beginning, it fell flat in the end. Hacking devolved into just simply pressing a button... and that's it... a button. "hold X to hack" is what you see all around the world and then in some instances you get involved in a puzzle which resembles pipe dream where you have to press X to manipulate the pipes to hack the device. I do believe though that the hacking mechanic has the potential to grow and become something really cool so we will have to wait and see what happens to that in the future. As for controls they were okay... as long as you were using a controller. I started the game playing on keyboard and mouse and found the controls to be terribly stiff especially when driving. Maybe its me but the kb/m controls did not cut it for me which is surprising because I usually prefer kb/m to a controller no mater what type of game I am playing. But once I switched to my Dualshock 4 controller I had a much easier time navigating and the movement felt a lot smoother to me.


World

I touched on this in the graphics portion, I feel the world was well done, had a lot to do, a lot to see but could have been executed a little better. One thing a lot of people bring up is the amount of people on the streets which makes sense. Chicago is a metropolis and its streets are buzzing and crowded at all times but to pull that off in game would be difficult. I felt that Watch_Dogs had more crowded areas than most other open world games do so that is a plus for them. Like I said before, Chicago felt alive in areas and especially around the landmarks you could get immersed in the game very easily. The Digital Trips added a lot of fun to the game (Spider-Tank being the best) and really opened up the world as to give you a sense of future tech in a modern world. It seems like the developers put a lot of time into building the world and it shows.


Online

The diamond in the rough of the game. The Online has SO MUCH POTENTIAL! While I think it is a very strong aspect of the game right now, I can only imagine that it is only the framework and "test" for a much larger implementation for the next game in the series. The ability for players to hack or 'invade' your world really can lend to the atmosphere the game was trying to convey that you are constantly under watch. It makes you paranoid to stay in one area too long or go into certain places (garages, large areas of NPCs). The ground level is set and if Ubisoft could come up with new unique ways to invade other players and actually have a risk/reward type system, I think the online portion of Watch_Dogs could really expand on itself and make the next installment great.


Story

This is the worst aspect of the game in my opinion. Very generic, very bland, and the voice acting was HORRIBLE! I mention in my video that the voice acting in a lot of scenes really feels empty, like you are literally listening to someone sitting in a booth reading their lines. The emotion is not captured right and it breaks immersion. The forgettable story had the potential to be great but falls flat on every note. Hopefully Ubisoft can step up their writing for the next game and spend some of their millions to hire some good voice actors (whats Troy Baker up to these days?) but for this game, they missed the mark completely which is a shame because of all the great story driven games we have had recently (Metro: Last Light, Bioshock Infinite, The Last of US, etc...). I wanted the story to capture me but it didn't.

All in all, Watch_Dogs is a safe game from Ubisoft. Not great but not garbage either. Forgettable story with some fun quirks and a good framework for future games in the franchise. I do recommend giving it a try as it does have enjoyable moments and is building to something bigger. After the press releases by Ubisoft generated the hype before release, Watch_Dogs was doomed to fall under the mediocre group because nothing could have delivered on the hype that was attached to this game before release. I enjoyed the game but did not love it but I am excited to see where the franchise goes in the future because it does leave a lot on the table that has the potential to make a great game if expanded upon.


Thanks for reading and until next time:

Like it: https://www.facebook.com/TheOnlySurvivor

Watch it: http://www.youtube.com/user/theonlysurvivordan

Follow it:

Dreamhost reviews

Saturday, October 19, 2013

Week in Review - 10/19/2013



Back on track this week after last weekends Comic Con in New York! Some big news came out during the week and it is inching closer and closer to the holiday season (we are just about a month away from the launch of the PS4 and Xbox One!) So without dragging this on lets get right to it:


Watch Dogs delayed until Spring 2014

In what came as a shock to most, Ubisoft announced that they will be delaying the release of Watch Dogs until Spring of 2014. Ubisoft stated they want to make sure they release the best possible game and at this time they still need to work more on the development. I actually applaud Ubisoft for this move, I mean sure, I hate that its delayed and I was really really looking forward to playing it in November but I can wait a little longer if it means a more polished and stable product.


Valve shows off Steam Controller

Valve released a 5 min video this week showing off their Steam Controller being used. They showed how the controller worked with games like Portal 2, Civilization V, Counterstrike GO and Papers Please. While the video was short, it did answer some questions and gave a brief look at the controller in action. While I felt like it worked well with Portal, I didn’t like the trackpad feel for Civilization V though everything is configurable so it might just be due to the configuration they choose to use for that game. Counterstrike didn’t look fluid at all compared to a keyboard and mouse combo but that could be due to having to get used to the controller over time. For FPS games you need to be fast and the precision showed off was there just not the speed but like I said, that could be due to the user not being 100% comfortable yet with the controller. The setup they used for Papers Please did look fluid for that game. All in all, I left the video feeling that the controller has great potential but its just not quite there yet. Maybe in time and with some small tweaks here and there it will become better.



GFWL removed from Batman: Arkham Asylum and Arkham City

First Bioshock now Batman! The death of Games for Windows Live is getting closer and many are rejoicing. As I have said many times before, I HATE GFWL!!! I love both the Arkham games but the problem for me was once I beat the games I had no desire to go back and play all the side missions and a main reason for that was because of GFWL. Now with it removed you can be damn sure I will be diving back into both games and getting all the rest of the stuff that I missed done.


Blizzard presents: Heroes of the Storm

That’s right, another HotS! Formerly known as Blizzard All-Stars, Heroes of the Storm is Blizzards entry back into the MOBA scene. Do they have what it takes to take on the likes of League of Legends and DOTA 2? Only time will tell but I would keep my eye close on this considering who it is. I mean when Blizzard release the first Starcraft they re-defined the RTS genre and then later when World of Warcraft came out, they re-invented the MMO so it is very exciting to see them try a MOBA and possible re-shape the industry once again.



That’s all for this week guys. Like I said, sorry for the delays in getting this out, and for missing last week because of New York Comic Con but I am back on track now and I have plenty in the works especially with the holiday season almost here and the end of the year awards.

Thanks for reading and until next time:

Like it: https://www.facebook.com/TheOnlySurvivor

Watch it: http://www.youtube.com/user/theonlysurvivordan

Follow it:

www.HyperSmash.com

Friday, August 30, 2013

Week In Review 8/30/2013

Another week gone. Its time for the wrap up of the week that was. Not too much went on considering all the real big news was revealed at Gamescom last weekend which I covered already, but there were some pretty cool things this week.

Buying a PS4 game through your Smartphone causes your PS4 to wake up, download the game and go back to sleep

Pretty cool feature to have if you ask me. Nice to know that I can be browsing on my lunch break at work, find a new game that looks interesting, buy it and have it ready for me to play the second I get back home. Nice going Sony for implementing this feature and I am sure something similar will be announced for the Xbox One as well.

Nintendo Announces 2DS

Trying to get ahead in the handheld market, Nintendo unveiled the 2DS this week. Basically its a 3DS without the 3D features at a lower price and no hinges. There has been some backlash over the design of the device but honestly, its not as bad as everyone is making it out to seem. Sure it looks a but bulky because it cannot fold like the 3DS but Nintendo is marketing the device towards children (even though I feel a majority of adults will buy the thing) and what was the most broken part of the 3DS? The damn hinges! I'm sure if people are used to holding a tablet device, the 2DS will fit right in and at a lower price point than the 3DS I can totally see Nintendo once again gaining a huge influx of users in their handheld market. I know I will be picking one up for sure because I was never into the 3D aspect of the DS and with tons of great games already out for the DS with tons more to come in the next year, this is the perfect opportunity to dive back into handheld gaming.



Bethesda "pushing" to let you play The Elder Scrolls Online on Xbox One without Xbox Live Gold

The first major push back to the system that I have heard of. Good for Bethesda trying to break down the paywall that Microsoft has in place but also looking from another perspective you can tell that maybe Bethesda is worried about how TESO will sell considering they announced the game will be subscription based. That means you pay for Xbox Live AND TESO every month instead of just one source. Though I feel nothing will happen on Microsoft's side and they will stay strong on the Xbox Live stance, it is refreshing to think that maybe developers are trying make their games more accessible, even though in this case, it doesn't really make that much of a difference because you will still have to pay for TESO...

Watch Dogs to receive exclusive effects and features on PC

Finally! A good console port to PC! More often than not these days, PC gamers have been getting pushed to the side by developers in favor of the consoles. Yes PC has the most games but lately there have been a ton of very poor console ports that do not let the PC users adjust graphical and sound settings to their fullest potential on their rigs. I just recently built a new gaming rig and even with the overkill hardware I have in there, some games just won't look good no matter what because the developers decided that adding in graphical features for the PC release was not worth it. Thank you to the team behind Watch Dogs at Ubisoft for considering the PC gamers and their ability to really push graphics to the next level.

That's all I have that really caught my attention this week. Like I said, it was a fairly slow week due to all the major things that came out of Gamescom last week. A few new trailers were released, so if you have a few minutes I highly recommend checking out War Thunder Heroes, the new GTAV trailer, and Everybody's Gone to the Rapture trailer. I will post them below for you all to enjoy. Also, if you haven't yet, go check out my last post where I covered violence in video games. I have gotten a ton of responses from it and I appreciate everyone that has taken the time to read through it. And I know I say this every week but I will be making a few videos for my youtube channel to check out and as I have said previously I have a few ideas for CONTESTS I want to put together but I need you all to follow me on Twitter and like my page on Facebook (sorry but social media is a must these days. I promise once I get more followers and likes I will do some major things) for a chance to win some awesome games!

Trailers:







Thanks for reading and until next time:

Like it: https://www.facebook.com/TheOnlySurvivor

Watch it: http://www.youtube.com/user/theonlysurvivordan

Follow it:

www.hypersmash.com